Working on my first build. I started last night. Here is my parts list

MOBO: ASRock Fatlity z87 Killer
GPU: Asus GeForce GTX 780 OC
CPU: i5 4670
RAM: Patriot Viper 16G (2x8)
PSU: XFX 850w 80 Gold certified fully modular
SSD: Samsung EVO 840 (250G)
HDD: Seagate 2TB

So when I put it together the first time nothing happened. It would not power up. So I did some research online and most things said to strip it back down to basics and start over. So I went back to just the mobo and cpu and it turned on and sent a signal to my monitor.

Next I installed my GPU and it booted up once again. Yay! BUT now I do not get a signal to my monitor from either the mobo or the gpu.. and I am now stuck. Help.. I don't want to move forward until I get each component in correctly...It seems like the mobo and the gpu are competing and cancelling each other out.. But this is my first build and I am somewhat of a PC noob. Any help would be greatly appreciated from those who have suffered through this before and are now experts!

Cheers Cohhmunity
the1chad

Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:13 pm

I've only built two PCs but just recently built this one and had similar issues with graphics cards working first time. I'd suggest setting the whole computer up with windows (or other OS) prior to plugging in your graphics card. At this point you'll know everything is working and be connected to the internet so your computer should auto detect the new card and replace your CPU intel HD graphics.

when you say there is no signal I'm assuming you can't even get into the BIOS options as well?
Ashardis

Wed Mar 12, 2014 6:01 pm

Take some pictures.

Most important things to check :
  • RAM inserted fully/properly (you shouldn't be able to turn the DDR3 RAM the wrong way, yet ppl manage to do it FORCEFULLY every day)