The Flynn-bomb is in need of assistance!

CommanderFlynn

Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:06 pm

For reference, my current build is the following:

Windows 7 64-bit
GTX 760
8GB of RAM
Intel i5-2500k @ 3.30GHz

Now I had be debating on upgrading the CPU to an i5 4430 but seems to only run at 3.0GHz (I don't plan on OCing, I have little knowledge on how and would rather not risk it) Seems to be the only upgrade I'm looking at minus a Motherboard.

I was also curious on people's opinions on headsets and such. I've always gone with headsets because they tend to include a microphone and be less likely to pick up game sound. And I was recently looking at the Razer Kraken 7.1 - mostly for the fact the Microphone is digital instead of analogue - and also because I like their gear :p . but I know a friend that also swears by using an Technica ATH-M50 and an expensive microphone along with a sound-card.

Any help is appreciated :)
I'm a gamer and I'm trying to become a novelist - albeit it's being very very slow.
But hey - never give up right?
And when in doubt, just keep swimming! =D
Ashardis

Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:26 pm

In order to "upgrade" the CPU, you would need to swap mobo's around aswell, as your Ivy Bridge 2500K runs socket 1156 while the latest Haswell runs socket 1150 - so no, not a major super duper woohoo upgrade and a tad costly for a very minor performance gain in regard to gaming (you'd be much better off OC'ing the 2500K on your current mobo :P )

For headsets.. it's really what you like. The big difference is when it comes to USB vs. Traditional 3.5mm minijack plugged ones.
Coz I'm a techgeek, I prefer USB headsets since they convert the mic signal to digital inside the left earmuff meaning there's VERY little chance of picking up a lot of eletronic static on the way in comparison to minijacked headsets who had to run the long wire to the plugs on the back of the PC (or front).
Higher quality headsets ofc have higher quality shielded cables n whatnot, but still.