Death Counter & Soundboard by Kalejin

Feel free to post about anything here.
Post Reply
User avatar
KingCupcake1432
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:52 pm
Contact:

Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:16 pm

[QUOTE="Kalejin, post: 57968, member: 8373"]Yes Windows shows this message because application is not signed using certificate (therefore publisher is unknown) and Windows now requires applications to be signed. Anyway if you select More Info and then Run Anyway it should work just fine.

As for the stored output device, application allows you to change sound device that sound will be played through (speakers, headphones, virtual cable... whatever you have connected) and stores your setting.
Prior to 4.0.0.6 application stored device index (i.e. 2nd device) and when there were not at least 2 devices connected application would crash silently (and if there were enough devices, but their order changed, it would select different device when loading settings)
Now selected device is stored by its name and if such device is not available at startup, then default output device is selected.

Can you please send me your config file located in C:\ProgramData\DCSB\config.xml ? I'll see if it is not corrupted and prevents application from starting. Thanks[/QUOTE] When trying to upload the file I get the message "The uploaded file does not have an allowed extension." Is it possible I could delet all the program data and everything of DCSB from my PC and reinstall?
User avatar
Kalejin
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:41 am

[QUOTE="KingCupcake1432, post: 57996, member: 124465"]When trying to upload the file I get the message "The uploaded file does not have an allowed extension." Is it possible I could delet all the program data and everything of DCSB from my PC and reinstall?[/QUOTE]
Just change the extension to something else, .txt should work, content is what is important.
Deleting config file might make it work again, but you would lost your configuration and the problem may very well return.
Chceck out my Death Counter & Soundboard for streamers!
User avatar
KingCupcake1432
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:52 pm
Contact:

Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:41 pm

[QUOTE="Kalejin, post: 58001, member: 8373"]Just change the extension to something else, .txt should work, content is what is important.
Deleting config file might make it work again, but you would lost your configuration and the problem may very well return.[/QUOTE]
There is my config.
Attachments
upload_2018-3-1_22-37-30.png
User avatar
Kalejin
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:28 am

[QUOTE="KingCupcake1432, post: 58060, member: 124465"]There is my config.[/QUOTE]
Ok, that config is totally bad, it contains only empty characters. You can delete it, unfortunately there is no way to recover your configuration, sorry. Then app should start without problem.

Can you please tell me, when you turned your PC on and application was already opened and playing sound, did you have your computer in sleep, hibernate or was it completely turned off?
I'll take a look at how application behaves in these situations, it may be tricky to handle though.
Chceck out my Death Counter & Soundboard for streamers!
User avatar
KingCupcake1432
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:52 pm
Contact:

Fri Mar 30, 2018 2:45 am

[QUOTE="Kalejin, post: 58073, member: 8373"]Ok, that config is totally bad, it contains only empty characters. You can delete it, unfortunately there is no way to recover your configuration, sorry. Then app should start without problem.

Can you please tell me, when you turned your PC on and application was already opened and playing sound, did you have your computer in sleep, hibernate or was it completely turned off?
I'll take a look at how application behaves in these situations, it may be tricky to handle though.[/QUOTE]
I usually don't put my computer in sleep or hybernate, so I most likely turned it off and forgot to close Death Counter and Soundboard.
User avatar
KingCupcake1432
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:52 pm
Contact:

Fri Mar 30, 2018 2:48 am

I have just downloaded the latest version of DCSB and the problem has happened again after installing do you know where all the data for everything tht has to do with DCSB is so i can full delete all of it after uninstalling?
FlaZedHD
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 12:04 pm
Contact:

Mon Apr 02, 2018 12:06 pm

how do you save the counter as a file and add the counter to your stream? (sorry if you already have explained it)
User avatar
DeXZoR
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 4:26 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:30 pm

we might need some uppdatet Links to wher to DW it now :D
User avatar
BarryCarlyon
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:43 am
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:00 pm

Here you go:

Download
Source Code


There was a size tag making a mess!
User avatar
Kalejin
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:54 am

KingCupcake1432 wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 2:48 am
I have just downloaded the latest version of DCSB and the problem has happened again after installing do you know where all the data for everything tht has to do with DCSB is so i can full delete all of it after uninstalling?
Delete config file in C:\ProgramData\DCSB\config.xml and it should work again.
Other than that all application files are located in directory where you installed it.
I am not able to reproduce this issue on my end, but I'll keep trying.
User avatar
Kalejin
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:58 am

FlaZedHD wrote:
Mon Apr 02, 2018 12:06 pm
how do you save the counter as a file and add the counter to your stream? (sorry if you already have explained it)
It depends on what streaming software you use, but generally what you need to do is:
Add Text Source to your scene in your streaming software and make it use text from file that you assigned to counter in DC+SB.
User avatar
Kalejin
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:59 am

BarryCarlyon wrote:
Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:00 pm
Here you go:

Download
Source Code


There was a size tag making a mess!
Thanks for the assistance Barry :)
User avatar
DeXZoR
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 4:26 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:31 am

BarryCarlyon wrote:
Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:00 pm
Here you go:

Download
Source Code


There was a size tag making a mess!
Thanks Barry :D
User avatar
Kalejin
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Thu May 03, 2018 2:59 am

KingCupcake1432 wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 2:48 am
I have just downloaded the latest version of DCSB and the problem has happened again after installing do you know where all the data for everything tht has to do with DCSB is so i can full delete all of it after uninstalling?
Could you please try new version https://github.com/Kalejin/DCSB/releases/tag/v4.0.0.8 ?
I made some updates in error handling. Even if it crashes it should display dialog with some error information that should help me identify the problem.
User avatar
cdnKrimsonKitty
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 12:04 pm
Contact:

Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:53 pm

Hopefully you are still around and working on this. I just started using it in my channel, but have noticed that they keybinds do not seem to work when the application isn't the currently selected application - as advertised. For example. I have "+" set to increase my death counter, and "x" to my first sound clip (I have a dedicated streaming laptop where i run SLOBS and DCSB, allowing me to use the entire keyboard for keybinds). When the program is selected, the keys work. However, if I click to another window, or minimize to the tray, the keys no longer work. I've only recently downloaded the program in the last month or two. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong, or if there's a bug.
User avatar
BarryCarlyon
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:43 am
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Fri Nov 02, 2018 10:30 am

I predict SLOBS is stealing all the keybinds…
User avatar
cdnKrimsonKitty
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 12:04 pm
Contact:

Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:45 pm

There aren't any shared keybinds, if that's what you're hinting at. I have discovered that apparently if I have nothing selected, it will work in the background. My boyfriend gets it to work as intended. As soon as I have another window selected (doesn't matter what one), it will no longer play my sound effect. If I click the desktop (so no window selected), then it works.

I have discovered that if I run it as an administrator, it works.
User avatar
Diabolik_Lord
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 2:37 pm
Contact:

Sat Feb 16, 2019 2:54 pm

Hello, HUGE HUGE fan of this... Missing one thing... How hard would it be to add a Push to talk Feature?
User avatar
Cereaz
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 5:28 am
Contact:

Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:00 am

Ok..... so i got a question.. I got an external numpad and i hope to make it as my soundboard. is there a way to have window recognised it is a seperate keyboard apart from my main keyboard? I am hoping that way i can use it with this application.
User avatar
BarryCarlyon
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:43 am
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:25 pm

Diabolik_Lord wrote:
Sat Feb 16, 2019 2:54 pm
Hello, HUGE HUGE fan of this... Missing one thing... How hard would it be to add a Push to talk Feature?
Depends which thing you are trying to make push to talk
Cereaz wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:00 am
Ok..... so i got a question.. I got an external numpad and i hope to make it as my soundboard. is there a way to have window recognised it is a seperate keyboard apart from my main keyboard? I am hoping that way i can use it with this application.
There's no "simple" way to do that a off the shelf cheap as chips external number pad. As Windows will try to run it soley as standard keyboard
Post Reply